Bi-Partisan Agreement Reached on Tax Reductions

Joint release from Kansas House Speaker Dan Hawkins and Senate President Ty Masterson

TOPEKA— Today, Republican legislative leadership reached a compromise with Governor Laura Kelly on a tax relief package that will deliver meaningful tax relief to all Kansans. The plan is almost identical in structure to the legislation passed at the end of the regular session that the governor vetoed. It simplifies the tax code into two brackets, lowers rates, includes substantial exemptions to help lower- income Kansans, reduces statewide property taxes, and repeals the state tax on Social Security. It contains minor adjustments to ensure the bill is quickly signed into law.

Senate President Ty Masterson and Speaker Dan Hawkins released the following statement commenting on the bi-partisan agreement:

“For over a year, the legislature has been laser-focused on easing the burden of inflation by letting taxpayers keep more of their hard-earned money by passing multiple broad and sustainable tax relief plans. We firmly believe the surpluses belong to the people, not the government. While the Governor’s veto pen prevented more substantial income and property tax relief, this agreement is an important first step that lowers taxes today for the people who need it the most while also eliminating the LAVTR slush fund. On Tuesday, we will act swiftly to pass this compromise – and look forward to resuming our efforts to pass additional tax relief when we return in January.”

Editor |

Earl Watt is the owner and publisher of the Leader & Times in Liberal, Kansas. Watt started his career in journalism in 1991 at the Southwest Daily Times. During his career, the newspaper has won a total of 17 Sweepstakes awards from the Kansas Press Association for editorial content and 18 Sweepstakes awards for advertising. Watt has been recognized with more than 70 first place awards for writing in categories from sports and column to best front pages, best sports pages and best opinion pages. Watt is a member of the Sons of the American Revolution and is the descendant of several patriots who fought for America's freedom and independence.